Overblog Suivre ce blog
Editer l'article Administration Créer mon blog
Opinion Africaine

Tanzania’s Salim Ahmed Salim to lead Commonwealth Observer Group for Rwanda Presidential Elections

27 Juillet 2010 , Rédigé par APPA Publié dans #Organisations internationales.

A Commonwealth Observer Group (COG) will be present during Rwanda’s Presidential Elections due to be held on 9 August 2010. The COG will be led by former Tanzania Prime Minister Dr Salim Ahmed Salim.


The Group was constituted by the Commonwealth Secretary-General at the invitation of the National Electoral Commission of Rwanda.


“Rwanda is the newest member of the Commonwealth and we are very pleased to observe these important elections”, the Secretary-General said. He went on, “Democracy is a key pillar of the Commonwealth, and the credible conduct of a country’s election is an integral and vital element of the democratic process.”


The Group’s mandate is to observe the preparations for the election; the polling, counting and results process and the overall electoral environment. The Team is to assess the conduct of the process as a whole and, where appropriate, make recommendations for the future strengthening of the electoral framework in Rwanda.


The Group is tasked to act impartially and independently, and to conduct itself according to the standards expressed in the International Declaration of Principles for Election Observation, to which the Commonwealth is a signatory.


The Group’s report will be submitted to the Commonwealth Secretary-General, who will in turn send it to the Government of Rwanda, the National Electoral Commission and political parties, and eventually to all Commonwealth Governments.


The Commonwealth Observer Group will comprise 13 eminent persons, including the Chair. The team will arrive in Rwanda on 2 August 2010 and stay until 16 August 2010.


The full composition of the Group:


Chair:   H.E Dr Salim Ahmed Salim

            Former Prime Minister





Mr Sabihuddin Ahmed

Former Permanent Secretary



Mr Art Wright

Former Diplomat



Brig. Gen. (Retd.) Francis Agyemfra

Former Diplomat



Dr Leith Dunn

Head of Institute for Gender and Development Studies

University of the West Indies, Jamaica


Mr Ceasar Handa

Media Expert



Mr Samuel Tembenu




Mr Mokshanand Dowarkasing

Former Member of Parliament



Mrs Simea Avei Meafou

Assistant Electoral Commissioner



Dr Christiana Thorpe

Chief Electoral Commissioner

Sierra Leone


Mr J C Weliamuna

Executive Director, Transparency International Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka


Ms Adelle Roopchand

Communications Consultant

Trinidad and Tobago


Ms Kaye Oliver

Former Diplomat

United Kingdom


Cathy Price
Administrative Assistant
Communications & Public Affairs Division
Commonwealth Secretariat
Marlborough House
Pall Mall
London SW1Y 5HX
United Kingdom
Tel:  +44 (0) 20 7747 6386   
Fax: Direct +44 (0) 20 7004 3771  General: +44 (0) 20 7839 9081
Did You Know?

The Commonwealth assists countries with international trade, debt, finance, and economic and legal advice.

Partager cet article

Repost 0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :

Commenter cet article